What are the meridians of the body


Meridians in Traditional Chinese Medicine are a complex network of energy channels, with one and only purpose: to provide uninterrupted circulation of Chi Energy throughout the body. Meridians are divided into two categories: Primates and Minors. Each of the Meridian Primates begins with a specific organ (Zhang) or a viscera (Fu), from which it derives its name. Each instrument is coupled to a viscera and thus creates six pairs of Primary Meridians.

  • Liver - Gallbladder Cyst
  • Heart - Small Intestine
  • Spleen - Stomach
  • Lung - Colon
  • Kidneys - Bladder Bladder
  • Pericardium - Triple Heater

The flow of energy in the closed meridian energy circuit has a specific time as shown in the following figure: 

The Meridians do not have a material or anatomical nature and do not correspond to a specific course of vascular or nerve activity, as we know from modern medicine. Any attempt to record them by radioisotopic or other imaging techniques has failed. The course of each traditional Meridian is described in ancient acupuncture books. On their way, the Meridians come into contact with the skin, where the acupuncture points are.

The following images illustrate the course of the Meridian of the Colon, as illustrated by ancient and modern acupuncture books:

These points have a specific anatomical location, which is accurately described in the various acupuncture books. At the same time, however, using modern techniques, it has been found to exhibit characteristic properties that make them distinct from the rest of the skin areas. These unique properties are:
1. Greater sensitivity to painful stimuli.
2. Local temperature higher or lower than surrounding tissues.
3. Greater CO2 capture capacity locally.
4. Lower electrical resistance (between 20 - 250 kW).
5. Greater potential difference than surrounding points (up to 250 mV).
6. Greater electrical capacity (0.1 - 2 µF).
The placement of the needle at the acupuncture points is aimed at balancing the body's energy by restoring the smooth circulation of Vital Energy to the complex meridian network.

The anatomical location of acupuncture points is described in detail in acupuncture books as well as techniques for finding them in clinical practice. For example Lung 1 point (the first point of the Primary Lung Meridian) is described as follows:

LOCATION1.6 cun below the key, 6 cun outside of PM20

PROPERTIESMu anterior of the lung
Point of entry with the Spline PM

INDICATIONSCough, dyspnoea, bloody and purulent expulsion, asthma, chest pain, common cold

LOCATION METHODSWe ask the patient to have his or her hand extended to move it to the sentence, while we project resistance. In the triangle of the major thoracic muscle, below the clavicle, is the point P2. In the interplanetary space, 1 cun lower and slightly outward, lies point P1

Acupuncture MethodsIt is obliquely 0.5 - 1 cun laterally in needle space

But apart from the traditional way of locating acupuncture points, it is possible to detect them with state-of-the-art devices that are capable of detecting the particular electrical properties that these points present relative to the rest of the skin.

Each Primary Meridian is entangled in the path of the Secondary Meridian, forming a closed energy circuit within which the Vital Energy circulates.

Secondary Meridians are energy channels that do not start from a particular organ or viscera, but irrigate the space between the Primary Meridians. In all, they are 56 and are distributed as follows: eight Paradoxes, twelve Distinguished, twelve Tendon Muscles, and fifteen Luo Vases. With the exception of the Paradoxes, none of the Secondary Meridians have a particular name, but they get their name from the Primary Meridian of which they are components. Also, none of them have separate acupuncture points, with the exception of the two Meridian Paradoxical Meridian Vessels and the Du Meridian Vessel. 

The eight Paradoxical Meridians, on the one hand, irrigate the space between the Primary Meridians, and, on the other, carry the Ancestral Energy from the Kidneys to the other organs. These are: Ren or Vessel (Ren), Du or Government Vessel (Du), Chong, Dai, Yangqiao, Yinqiao, Yangwei and Yin Wei (Yinwei). They have no acupuncture points, with the exception of Ren and Dou. 

The Twelve Distinguished Meridians are intended to transfer defensive energy from the Tenomicus meridians into the body. They march in pairs following the respective Meridian Capitals, from which they get their name. They dodge from the ancient He points and end up in the face and head.

The twelve Meridians of the Tendon are intended to transfer defensive energy to the superficial layers of the body. They are twelve in number and march along the respective Meridian Capitals, from which they receive their name. They hunt from ancient Jing points, they always go overseas and unite at some point along their journey.

Luo vessels also belong to the Secondary Meridians and their role is to regulate the energy circulation between the Primary Meridians. They are distinguished in the twelve vessels of the Louvre of the Primary Meridians, the two paradoxical meridians of the Doe and the Ren and the Great Luo Vessel of the Spleen. They exile from the Luo point of a Meridian Primary and end up in the Meridian conjugate, transferring the excess energy.

With this complex network of meridians, Traditional Chinese Medicine believes that both the vital flow of Vital Energy and the body's defense against various harmful factors are guaranteed. The placement of needles in traditional acupuncture points is capable of removing any malfunction necessary to maintain a harmonious and smooth energy flow.

Source: https://www.care.gr/post/1073/oi-paradosiakoi-mesimvrinoi-kai-ta-simeia-velonismou